Thursday, January 31, 2013

S&S Mobile Review: Infestor


Title: Infestor
Format: iOS
Release Date: January 17th, 2013
Publisher: Ravenous Games
Developer: Ravenous Games
Price: $0.99
ESRB Rating: 4+

     Get ready for a fun puzzle platformer created by the award-winning studio Ravenous Games!

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

S&S Review: Hitman HD Trilogy

Title: Hitman HD Trilogy
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360
Release Date: January 29, 2013
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: Io Interactive
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: M

The Hitman HD Trilogy is the first of possibly many HD remakes we'll be getting this year, and it looks to start off the year on a high.  It brings together three great Hitman games, and gives it the HD modernization that many other classic franchises have received, what more could you want?

Monday, January 28, 2013

S&S Mobile Review: League of Evil



Title: League of Evil
Format: iOS
Release Date: February 15th, 2012
Publisher: Ravenous Games
Developer: Ravenous Games
Price: $1.99/ Free (Lite Version)
ESRB Rating: 9+

         “The world needs your help! Evil scientists worldwide have joined forces, forming a ‘League of Evil.’ The only super agent who can stop them is YOU!”

Sunday, January 27, 2013

S&S Tech Review: LunaTik Watchband




WHAT IS IT?

     Ever since the 6th Generation iPod Nano was announced in September of 2010, people have wanted to use the Nano as a watch. LunaTik, a company known for their high-quality iPhone cases,  designed the best and affordable way to do so. 

Saturday, January 26, 2013

S&S Review: The Cave

Title: The Cave
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC(reviewed), Wii U, Mac
Release Date: January 22, 2013
Publisher: SEGA
Developer: Double Fine Productions
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: T

The Cave comes to us from Double Fine, and the game looks to reinvigorate the adventure game genre.  Legendary game designer, Ron Gilbert is once again behind the wheel, and is looking to create another unforgettable experience.

Thursday, January 24, 2013

S&S Review: Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

Title: Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch
Format: PS3
Release Date: January 22, 2012
Publisher: Namco Bandai
Developer: Level-5
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: E


Ni No Kuni is game by Level-5, one of the most prestigious developers around. Ever since I saw the first screenshots and promotional videos for the game, I knew I had to play it. I am always looking for a good RPG to play, and that's exactly what I found. The game shattered all my expectations for it, and right from the start, it just blew me away.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

S&S Mobile Review: Joe Danger iOS


Title: Joe Danger iOS
Format: iOS
Release Date: January 10, 2013
Publisher: Hello Games
Developer: Hello Games
Price: $2.99
ESRB Rating: E

I was always a big fan of Joe Danger on the PS3 and Xbox 360, and when Hello Games gave us the option to play the game on the go, I quickly jumped all over it.  Joe Danger for the iOS proves that games on the mobile platform are just as good as their console counterparts.  

Saturday, January 19, 2013

S&S Review: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt DLC

Title: Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt DLC
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: January 15, 2012
Publisher: 2K Games
Developer: Gearbox Software
Price: $9.99
ESRB Rating: M

The latest DLC expansion for Borderlands 2 stars the outlandish Sir Hammerlock, as you join him on a hunting expedition.  It's a cool concept for a DLC expansion, but the DLC never evolved into anything memorable.  Don't get me wrong, this is a good expansion, it just doesn't live up to the expectations set from previous expansions.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

S&S Thoughts on: Call of Duty Black Ops 2 DLC


Title: Call of Duty Black Ops 2
Format: PS3,Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: November 12, 2012
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Treyarch
Price: $ 59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Yes as all of you now know Call of Duty Black ops 2 is well on it's way to getting it's first DLC. Only still in it's infancy stages we are already looking for the new downloads. What does this say about the CoD franchise? Can this keep going Companies it can and will till we the consumer say enough and refuse to buy it, but that will never happen for the simple reason that CoD will always have people who buy it just to say I have newest Call of Duty. We have proof already that the developer's do not care about the consumer but just the figure that they make off of us.

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

S&S Review: DmC Devil May Cry

Title: DmC Devil May Cry
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: January 15, 2012
Publisher: Capcom
Developer: Ninja Theory
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Lets face it, the Devil May Cry series was one of the more popular franchises that really needed a reboot.  The game had gotten a little stale, and I had lost interest in the series as a whole.  Thankfully, Capcom gave the keys to Ninja Theory to try and reinvigorate the franchise.  They did just that, the game feels better, and fresh, and it was just a blast to play.  

Saturday, January 12, 2013

S&S Review: Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse

Title: Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: November 20th, 2012
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Heavy Iron Studios
Price: $49.99
ESRB Rating: M

I'm possibly one of the biggest Family Guy fans out there, and I had to give the game a try.  Even with all the negative reviews and remarks I've seen about the game, I still needed to get my hands on it.  Back to the Multiverse gives us some new time with Brian and Stewie, and I don't know anyone who would turn that down.  

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

S&S Review: The War Z

Title: The War Z
Format: PC
Release Date: October 31, 2012
Publisher: Arktos Entertainment
Developer: Hammerpoint Interactive
ESRB Rating: M

I know that a lot of people have had it up to here with The War Z, but I couldn't let the game seep through cracks without giving it it's fair shake.  The game has been ridiculed from day one, and for good measure.  A lot of people got ripped off from questionable bans, or they just received a random message saying they can't play the game anymore.  But I won't get too much more into that whole debacle. I actually thought the game had a great concept, it's execution was just too poor, and it turned out to be a huge mess.

Saturday, January 5, 2013

S&S Review: New Super Mario Bros. U



Title: New Super Mario Bros. U
Format: Wii U
Release Date: November 18, 2012
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo EAD
Price: $59.99 (Digital and Retail)
ESRB Rating: E for Everyone

Let's be honest: New Super Mario Bros. isn't exactly new anymore. As the fourth game in the series, New Super Mario Bros. U has a lot to live up to. So does it pull it off?

Friday, January 4, 2013

S&S Perspective: Top 5 PS Vita Games of 2012


When the PS Vita launched back in February of last year, it seems like there was a game released for it every week.  Since then, it has cooled off quite a bit.  It was still a pretty successful year for Sony's new portable, and I wanted to list some of my favorite titles featured on the system.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

S&S Mobile Review: Pangolin


Title: Pangolin
Format: iOS
Release Date: December 15th, 2012
Publisher: FeedTank
Developer: FeedTank
Price: Free ($1.99 for extra levels)
ESRB Rating: 4+

A charmingly quirky puzzler that will keep you entertained for hours.