Friday, November 30, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Little Inferno

Title: Little Inferno
Format: PC
Release Date: November 19, 2012
Publisher: Tomorrow Corporation
Developer: Tomorrow Corporation
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: T

Little Inferno comes to us from Tomorrow Corporation, this new indie game's art style was the reason I picked it up.  You can instantly tell that the game is unique, but is the gameplay actually fun?

Thursday, November 29, 2012

S&S Review: Mass Effect 3 Omega DLC

Title: Mass Effect 3 Omega DLC
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: November 27, 2012
Publisher: EA
Developer: Bioware
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: M

The latest DLC for Mass Effect 3 has just been released, and at a time where people began losing interest in Mass Effect 3, the Omega expansion looks to bring players back and controlling Commander Shepard.  

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

S&S Review: LEGO The Lord of the Rings

Title: LEGO Lord of the Rings
Format: PS3, Xbox 360(reviewed), PC, Wii, 3DS, DS, Vita
Release Date: November 20th, 2012
Publisher: Warner Bros. Interactive
Developer: TT Games
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: E

It's almost a tradition that a major franchise be remade into a LEGO video game, I really enjoyed LEGO Batman 2, and I had pretty high hopes for Lord of the Rings.  Although LEGO LOTR isn't as great as the previous LEGO game, its still a overall good game.  

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

S&S Review: Paper Mario: Sticker Star














Format: 3DS
Release Date: November 11, 2012
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Intelligent Systems
Price: $39.99 (Retail and Digital)
ESRB Rating: E for Everyone

After the more recent Super Paper Mario on the Wii, the series returns to its turn-based battle mechanics with its fourth installment and does so rather well. Fan of RPGs or not, you may want to consider checking this one out.

Monday, November 26, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Trailer Park King 3DD


Title: Trailer Park King 3DD // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: November 21, 2012 // Developer: Freelance Games // Price: 80 MS points Each // Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 3/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

The finale to the Trailer Park King series has just been released, and its just as ridiculous as ever.  If you're looking for a game thats humorous, while still being visually stimulating, I would surprisingly recommend Trailer Park King 3DD.  

Sunday, November 25, 2012

S&S Review: The Walking Dead Game Episode 5

Title: The Walking Dead Game: Episode 5
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC, Mac
Release Date: November 20th, 2012
Publisher: Telltale Games
Developer: Telltale Games
Price: $5
ESRB Rating: M

The final episode of the tragic series closes the door on our survivors' story, with a lackluster previous episode, the fifth episode proves to be the best out of the sorrowful episodes.  

Friday, November 23, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Anna

Title: Anna
Format: PC, Mac
Release Date: July 16, 2012, November 2012(Mac)
Publisher: Kalypso Media
Developer: Dreampainters
Price: $5
ESRB Rating: T

I'm a big fan of indie games, and since the horror genre has been on a high for awhile, I thought I would give Anna a try.  Its just been released for the Mac, and that was the perfect opportunity for me to give it a shot.

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

S&S Review: Playstation All Stars Battle Royale

Title: Playstation All Stars Battle Royale
Format: PS3, PS Vita
Release Date: November 20th, 2012
Publisher: SCEA
Developer: SuperBot Entertainment
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: T

Playstation All Stars Battle Royale brings in most of Sony's iconic figures and a few notable third party figures like Dante from DmC, and pits them against one another in a fight to the death.  Ever since this game's inception, its been getting called a Smash Bros clone, but after my time with the game, that statement isn't true in the least.  

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

S&S Review: Scribblenauts Unlimited

Title: Scribblenauts Unlimited
Format: Wii U, 3DS, PC(reviewed) 
Release Date: November 20, 2012
Publisher: Warner Bros Interactive
Developer: 5th Cell
Price: $29.99(PC), $39.99(3DS), $49.99(Wii U)
ESRB Rating: E

Scribblenauts has to be one of my favorite new IP's to be released this gen, it took a brilliant idea and turned it into a great franchise.  Scribblenauts Unlimited took everything from the previous games, and made it better and prettier. 

Monday, November 19, 2012

S&S Review: Hitman Absolution

Title: Hitman Absolution
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: November 20, 2012
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: Io Interactive
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Agent 47 is finally back after six years of waiting, Hitman Absolution continues the winning  formula that made the Hitman games famous.  With an all-new storyline and some drop dead visuals, this is the perfect sequel to Blood Money.

Friday, November 16, 2012

S&S Thoughts On: Call of Duty Black Ops 2

Title: Black Ops 2 with TheFloorHugger
Format: Ps3, Xbox and PC
Release Date: November 12, 2012
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Treyarch
Price: $ 59.99
ESRB Rating: M

 Today as I sit I can say that Black Ops 2 is the best of the CoD series I have yet to play. Given the occasionally lag spike or hit detection failure even lobby matching  I can sit here and say today that I am in love with this game. I have been playing almost none stop since I got it on  Tuesday and can not get enough of this game Campaign or Multiplayer even Zombies.

S&S Tech Review: Astro A50 Wireless Headset

If you're looking to enhance your gaming experiences and if you're looking for a great pair wireless headsets, the A50's from Astro Gaming jumps to the top of my recommended list.  If you have the cash to drop, these new headsets maybe the best bang for your buck.  

Thursday, November 15, 2012

S&S Review: When Vikings Attack



Title: When Vikings Attack
Format: PSN
Release Date: November 6, 2012
Publisher: SCEA
Developer: Clever Beans
Price: $9.99
ESRB Rating: E

When Vikings Attack is another quirky PSN title for the PS3 and the PS Vita that features charming visuals and encourages party play.  Its definitely a different game, but does that make it good one?

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

S&S Review: Call of Duty: Black Ops 2

Title: Call of Duty: Black Ops 2
Format: PS3, Xbox 360(reviewed), PC
Release Date: November 13, 2012
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Treyarch 
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Another year, another Call of Duty.  Black Op 2 is the direct sequel to the best selling game of 2010, Black Ops, and it looks like its not gonna disappoint as well.  The sequel proves to be the most ambitious COD yet, and easily one of the best shooters this year.  

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

S&S Review: LittleBigPlanet Karting

Title: LittleBigPlanet Karting
Format: PS3
Release Date: November 6, 2012
Publisher: SCEA
Developer: United Front Games, Media Molecule
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: E

LittleBigPlanet Karting comes to us from United Front Games and the creators of LittleBigPlanet, Media Molecule.  It was only a matter of time before Sackboy received his own kart racing game, and it turns out, that he's a great and worthy racer.  

Saturday, November 10, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Deponia

Title: Deponia
Format: PC
Release Date: Tuesday, August 7, 2012
Publisher: Daedalic Entertainment
Developer: Daedalic / Lace Mamba
Price: $19.99
ESRB Rating: T

Mixed with the various modern actions games, full of blood, guts, and gore, Daedalic Entertainment's recent release, Deponia, takes us back to the good old times, where the only things the hero/heroine had to stop the big baddie was nothing but their hands, their wits, and an endless assortment of random objects at their disposal.

Friday, November 9, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Angry Birds Star Wars

Title: Angry Birds Star Wars
Format: iOS
Release Date: November 8, 2012
Publisher: Rovio
Developer: Rovio
Price: .99(iPhone), 3.99(iPad)
ESRB Rating: E

One of the most addicting mobile games to date has combined with one of the most popular franchises around, and what do you get, Angry Birds Star Wars.  It seems that Rovio just keeps improving its award winning game, blending in more great gameplay with an iconic universe.  

Thursday, November 8, 2012

S&S Review: Sports Champions 2

Title: Sports Champions 2
Format: PS3
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Publisher: SCEA
Developer: Zindagi Games, SCE Studios San Deigo
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: E

I've been needing a reason to dust off my Playstation Move for awhile now, since I enjoyed the original Sports Champions, I was really excited for the second game.  Sports Champions 2 turned out to be a worthy sequel with more activities to play.  

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

S&S Review: Dragon Ball Z Budokai HD Collection

Title: Dragon Ball Z Budokai HD Collection
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: November 6, 2012
Publisher: Namco Bandai
Developer: Dimps
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: T

The latest HD Collection I've gotten my hands on is the Dragon Ball Z Budokai Collection.  I'm a huge fan of the show, movies, and the tons of games that have the DBZ name attached to it.  The Budokai games have always been my favorite, and I'm glad these were the games that got the HD remake. 

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

S&S Review: Halo 4

Title: Halo 4
Format: Xbox 360
Release Date: November 6, 2012
Publisher: Microsoft Game Studios
Developer: 343 Industries
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Halo 4 is the first game in the new trilogy by 343 Industries, and possibly the last Halo game for the Xbox 360.  Does the new development team bring the game to new heights, or does it drive the storied franchise into the ground?

Monday, November 5, 2012

S&S Review: Zone of The Enders HD Collection

Title: Zone of The Enders HD Collection
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Publisher: Konami
Developer: Kojima Productions, High Voltage Software
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: M


I was never the biggest fan of the Zone of The Enders series, which is shocking seeing how much of a fan I am of Hideo Kojima, I'm glad too get another go 'round with the two games.  Both games were classics on the PS2, receiving a ton of praise from people and critics worldwide.  With the recent HD treatment, both games prove to be better than their original counterparts.

Sunday, November 4, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Pid

Title: Pid
Format: PC, PS3
Release Date: October 31, 2012
Developer: Might and Delight
Price: $19.99
ESRB Rating: E

Pid inspires to be an original title in a genre that indie developers thrive in.  Even though it has a completely unique visual style, a lot of the gameplay suffers from outdated mechanics that many platformers abandoned long ago.  

Friday, November 2, 2012

S&S Review: Okami HD

Title: Okami HD
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Publisher: Capcom
Developer: HexaDrive, Clover Studio
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: T

I've always wanted to play the original Okami, seeing how everyone compares this game Zelda, I should have played this six years ago when it first came out.  It not only reaches the heights of a few Zelda games, it also surpasses them as well.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

S&S Review: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation

Title: Assassin's Creed III: Liberation
Format: PS Vita
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Publisher: Ubisoft
Developer: Ubisoft
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: M

 Coming right off of Assassin's Creed III, I had to pickup Liberation for the Vita.  I've always wanted a good Assassins Creed game on the go, since Bloodlines for the PSP wasn't very good, ACIII: Liberation doesn't have that high of standards for me.  Luckily, we finally have a good AC game for the portable system.