Wednesday, October 31, 2012

S&S Review: Need for Speed Most Wanted

Title: Need for Speed Most Wanted
Format: PS3, Xbox 360(reviewed), PC, PS Vita
Release Date: 10/30/12
Publisher: EA
Developer: Criterion Games
Price: $59.99, $49.99(PC), $39.00(PS Vita)
ESRB Rating: E

After spending 20+ hours in Forza Horizon, I wanted to get my hands on another racer.  Need for Speed Most Wanted was my first choice, and I was surprised at how much fun I had with the game, and it proves to be the best NFS game released so far.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

S&S Review: Assassin's Creed 3


Title:  Assassin's Creed 3
Format:  PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: October 30, 2012
Publisher: Ubisoft
Developer: Ubisoft Montreal, Ubisoft Annecy
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Assassins Creed 3 had to be the most anticipated game this year, it was definitely mine, and its safe to say that the game was definitely worth the wait. The third game closes the story arc of Desmond, it proves to be the best Assassin's Creed yet.  

Monday, October 29, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Hotline Miami

Title: Hotline Miami
Format: PC
Release Date: October 23, 2012
Publisher: Devolver Digital
Developer: Dennaton Games
Price: $9.99
ESRB Rating: M

Hotline Miami comes to us from Dennaton Games and Devolver Digital, a couple of companies that you've probably never heard of, but they're sure to earn some new fans with their new downloadable title.  Hotline Miami pushes the limit of style and violence, making it one of the more special, yet grotesque games out there.  

Sunday, October 28, 2012

S&S Review: Silent Hill Downpour

Title: Silent Hill Downpour
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: March 13, 2012
Publisher: Konami
Developer: Vatra
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Bonjourno, feel the wrath of my silent hill review! New Silent Hill game, I know what you’re thinking, “Shit right?” well no, it’s actually pretty good, I know right! Satan must have ice skated into work this morning. It’s no silent hill 2 but what is? Not even silent hill 2 is silent hill 2 anymore but it feels like I haven’t played a decent survival horror game since Dead Space one (Dead space 2 sucked, giving Isaac a personality = epic fail), so I was really looking forward to this but after the slew of silent hill abortions I was wary of this but first ten minutes into the game and there was no mention of crazy nightmare world cults so things are looking up.

Friday, October 26, 2012

S&S Review: New Little King's Story

Title: New Little King's Story
Format: PS Vita
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Konami
Developer: AQ Interactive, Marvelous Entertainment
Price: $40
ESRB Rating: E

Going into New Little King's Story, I thought it was going to be another standout for the PS Vita, but I got the exact opposite of what I wanted.  Since I was a fan of the original Little King's Story on the Wii, I was pretty disappointed with the Vita's version.  

Thursday, October 25, 2012

S&S Review: Dokuro

Title: Dokuro
Format: PS Vita
Release Date: October 16, 2012
Publisher: GungHo Online Entertainment 
Developer: Game Arts
Price: $19.99
ESRB Rating: E

When you first pickup Dokuro, you instantly notice how different it is in style.  The platforming genre has been getting a lot of great releases lately, and the fact that this is on the Vita, makes it all the better.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

S&S Review: The Unfinished Swan

Title: The Unfinished Swan
Format: PSN
Release Date: October 23, 2012
Publisher: SCEA
Developer: Giant Sparrow
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: E

The Unfinished Swan is the quintessential PSN title, its unrepeatable gameplay and style makes it one of the most special downloadable titles ever to be released on the Playstation Network.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

S&S Review: Medal of Honor Warfighter

Title: Medal of Honor Warfighter
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: October 23, 2012
Publisher: EA
Developer: Danger Close
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

Medal of Honor Warfighter is the second next gen MOH game, and even though the first game wasn't received so well, Warfighter looks to remake its name in genre cluttered with military shooters.

Monday, October 22, 2012

S&S Review: Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty

Title: Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: October 16, 2012
Publisher: 2K Games
Developer: Gearbox Software
Price: $9.99
ESRB Rating: M

Captain Scarlett and Her Pirate's Booty is the first big expansion to the highly praised Borderlands 2, although it doesn't match the highs of the standalone game, its still a great piece of downloadable content.  

Sunday, October 21, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Sunflowers

Title: Sunflowers
Format: PS Vita
Release Date: October 9, 2012
Developer: The Game Atelier
Price: $3.99
ESRB Rating: E

Anyone that wants a nice change of pace from the gory first person shooters and overrun zombie-infested cities, you should definitely check out Sunflowers.  

Friday, October 19, 2012

S&S Review: Of Orcs and Men

Title: Of Orcs and Men
Format: PSN(reviewed), XBLA, PC
Release Date: October 11, 2012
Publisher: Focus Home Interactive
Developer: Cyanide Studios
Price: $39.99(Steam), $49.99
ESRB Rating: M

Of Orcs and Men comes from the guys' at Cyanide Studios, the developers behind the disappointing Game of Thrones game, their second go 'round proves to be a much better game in every way.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Ninja Crash


Title: Ninja Crash
Format: Xbox Live Indie Game
Genre: Action & Adventure
Release Date: October 16, 2012
Developer: Team Devil Games
Price: 240 MSP
Rating: Violence = 1/3, Sex = 1/3, Mature Content = 1/3

It was just another ordinary day when the master’s cheese was suddenly stolen. So naturally he sends his crew of super awesome ninjas to retrieve it. Sigh. Can’t a ninja ever get some peace? Apparently not, but it sure makes for some co-op battle goodness. Your mission: defeat all the baddies by destroying their lanterns and protecting your own. Button mash your way to the top of the stage and above your enemies to pop their lanterns before they get yours. It can be tough on your thumb after a while, but there are plenty of power ups to speed up the process and help defeat the enemies. And the controls are ridiculously simple, so anyone can pick up a controller and join you on the quest to reclaim the cheese!

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

S&S Review: Naughty Bear: Panic in Paradise

Title: Naughty Bear: Panic in Paradise
Format: PSN, XBLA
Release Date: October 10, 2012
Publisher: 505 Games
Developer: Behaviour Interactive
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: T

Naughty Bear: Panic in Paradise is the second go around as the menacing Naughty, and with the first outing not going as planned, the second game looks to bounce back on Paradise Island.  

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

S&S Review: Tokyo Jungle

Title: Tokyo Jungle 
Format: PS3/PSN 
Release Date: 25 September 2012
Publisher: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developer: SCE Japan Studio, Crispy's, PlayStation C.A.M.P. 
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: E 

I needed a game like no other to get back into the swing of things. My gaming hiatus had ended and I was a raging bull at my controller. Funny I should say bull because the game that caught my eye on the PSN wasn’t a shooter or a sports game. It was about animals and survival.










Monday, October 15, 2012

S&S Preview: The War-Z

Title: The War-Z
Format: PC
Release Date: TBA
Publisher: Arktos Entertainment
Developer: Hammerpoint Interactive
Price: Various Prices
ESRB Rating: RP

Like most people in the gaming world I have a passion for two things. Zombies and Guns. Now when these two things are combined within a single video game I cannot contain my excitement and control my sense of anticipation. We have seen games like left for dead and dead island thrive and receive excellent reviews from nearly all who played them. There is just something about a game which combines these two factors that  makes it not only a great game, but a great success to the game industry as a whole.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Retro City Rampage

Title: Retro City Rampage
Format: PSN, PC
Release Date: October 9, 2012
Developer: VBlank Entertainment
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: T

Retro City Rampage is an indie game that really came out of nowhere for me, I hadn't hurt too much about it until the week of its release.  Its turning out to be one of the major sleeper hits this year.

Friday, October 12, 2012

S&S Review: Forza Horizon


Title: Forza Horizon
Format: Xbox 360
Release Date: October 23, 2012
Publisher: Microsoft Game Studios
Developer: Playground Games, Turn 10 Studios
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: T


Forza Horizon is the fifth game in the Forza franchise, and after a number of hours with the game, its easily the best one yet. With breathtaking visuals and extremely polished gameplay, it can also be one of the best racers as well.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

S&S Review: The Walking Dead Game Episode 4

Title: The Walking Dead Game Episode 4: Around Every Corner
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC, Mac
Release Date: October 10, 2012
Publisher: Telltale Games
Developer: Telltale Games
Price: $5
ESRB Rating: M

Episode 4 of the The Walking Dead Game has finally arrived, and after a month and a half of waiting, we get to continue following the diminished group of survivors.  The question is, can it live up to the hype the previous three episodes built up?

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

S&S Review: Dishonored

Title: Dishonored
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: October 9, 2012
Publisher: Bethesda
Developer: Arkane Studios
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

With just a day since its release, Dishonored has already captured the hearts and minds of many gamers, including my own.  In a time where the gaming scene is cluttered with copies and knockoffs, its great to see a game be so different, but so great as well.  

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

S&S Review: XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Title: XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Format: PS3(reviewed), Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: October 9, 2012
Publisher: 2K Games
Developer: Firaxis 
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

XCOM has a pretty awarded background, but seeing how I've never played the original games, I went into Enemy Unknown completely unaware of why the series was so great.  Its safe to say that with my extensive time I had with the game, it looks like XCOM is getting a new lifelong fan.

Monday, October 8, 2012

S&S Review: Pro Evolution Soccer 2013

Title: Pro Evolution Soccer 2013
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: September 25, 2012
Publisher: Konami
Developer: Winning Eleven
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: E

After finishing up my time with FIFA 13, I finally got some quality time with EA's biggest competition, Pro Evolution Soccer 2013.  It seems like PES looks to finally overtake the throne that FIFAs been sitting upon for so long.

Saturday, October 6, 2012

S&S Review: Resident Evil 6


Title: Resident Evil 6
Format: Xbox 360, PS3
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: Capcom
Developer: Capcom
Price:
ESRB Rating: M

Capcom releases the second Resident Evil game in the main series this generation with RE6. While newcomers to the series may find an enjoyable romp through a wasteland lousy with monsters, longtime fans may feel the game departs wildly from the franchise they've grown to know and love. Resident Evil 6 may not be a wild departure, however. Instead, the latest edition in the series may just be the natural progression of story and gameplay. While that may open the series up to fans of Hollywood and western games, a couple fatal flaws nearly alienate the hardcore gaming crowd.

Friday, October 5, 2012

S&S Review: Joe Danger 2: The Movie

Title: Joe Danger 2: The Movie
Format: XBLA
Release Date: September 14, 2012
Publisher: Microsoft 
Developer: Hello Games
Price: 1200 MS Points
ESRB Rating: E

I was a fan of the original Joe Danger like most people, and with the newly released sequel, it looks to improve on everything that made the first game so good.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Final Fantasy Dimensions


Title: Final Fantasy Dimensions
Format: iOS
Release Date: August 31, 2012
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: Square Enix
Price: $29.99
ESRB Rating: E

If you're into really heavy old school RPG games, and if you only like doing so on your smartphone or tablet, then Final Fantasy Dimensions was made specifically for you.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

S&S Review: NBA 2K13

Title: NBA 2K13
Format: PS3(), Xbox 360(reviewed version), PC
Release Date: October 2, 2012
Publisher: 2K Sports
Developer: Visual Concepts
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: E

The best sports game from last year is finally back on the hardwood, and with a ton of new changes and innovations, it looks like it has a chance to repeat.

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

S&S Tech Review: iPhone 5


           The highly anticipated, feverishly leaked addition to the iPhone family has finally arrived in all it’s glory.

Monday, October 1, 2012

S&S Indie Review: They Bleed Pixels

Title: They Bleed Pixels
Format: PC
Release Date: August 29, 2012
Publisher: Spooky Squid Games Inc
Developer: Spooky Squid Games Inc
Price: $9.99
ESRB Rating: M

I'm a pretty big fan of indie games, because it seems like every one that i play, they all have something special that's unique to that game.  They Bleed Pixels is perfect proof of just that.