Friday, August 31, 2012

S&S Review: The Walking Dead Game: Episode 3: Long Road Ahead

Title: The Walking Dead Game: Episode 3: Long Road Ahead
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC, Mac
Release Date: August 28 on PS2, August 29 on Steam and XBLA
Publisher: Telltale Games
Developer: Telltale Games
Price: $5
ESRB Rating: M

The third episode of the phenomenal Walking Dead series has finally been put in our hands, and its been well worth the wait.  Improving on already great storytelling and gameplay mechanics, The Long Road Ahead is the best episode yet.
*Spoiler Free*

An S&S Mobile Update: Dédale Enters Greenlight!

Hey readers! A while back I reviewed an amazing puzzle game called Dédale, by Sergey Mohov. The game was very unique and challenging and I loved it. Dédale has recently been entered into Steam's Greenlight process. Greenlight is a program in which Steam users can vote on games they love to get localized into the Steam store. So help a great indie developer and friend of the site out and go vote for Dédale. The link to its Greenlight page is below. Thanks for reading and go vote now!

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=92938182

Thursday, August 30, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Jet Set Willy 360

Title: Jet Set Willy 360
Format: Xbox 360
Release Date: August 23, 2012
Publisher: Elite Systems Ltd
Developer: Elite Systems Ltd
Price: $3
Rating: Violence 0/3, Sex 0/3, Mature Content 1/3

Jet Set Willy 360 is a port of Jet Set Willy from the ZX Spectrum days of gaming. This port is pretty much 100 percent accurate to the original for better or for worse.

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

S&S Review: Madden 13

Title: Madden 13
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PS Vita
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Publisher: EA
Developer: Tiburon
Price: $59
ESRB Rating: E

After a few years of minor changes and gameplay tweaks, Madden 13 looks to take a more massive leap in terms of improvements.  With a brand new revamped physics engine, this is easily the best Madden I've seen in years.  

S&S Mobile Review: Agent Dash


Title: Agent Dash
Format: Andoid/ iOS
Release Date: August 2nd, 2012
Publisher: Full Fat
Developer: Full Fat
Price: Free
ESRB Rating: All


As of late there has been a lot of mimicking in the mobile games market. Playing through countless "runner" games, I was reluctant to download this game, thinking it was just another Temple Run clone. What I got instead was a high quality mobile game, aesthetically different from many other "runner" games out there.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Dead Trigger

Title: Dead Trigger
Format: iOS/ Android
Release Date: August 1st, 2012
Publisher: MadFinger Games
Developer: MadFinger Games
Price: Free
ESRB Rating: 17+ 


    Mow down endless hordes of the undead in the most visually stunning game on the AppStore.

Monday, August 27, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Slick

Title: Slick
Format: Xbox 360
Release Date: August 21, 2012
Publisher: Halcyon Softworks
Developer: Halcyon Softworks
Price: $1
Rating: Violence 0/3, Sex 0/3, Mature Content 1/3

Slick, developed by Halcyon Softworks, looks as though it came straight out of the old Gameboys but some of what was there appears to have been lost in translation. It has the perfect 8bit look and has fantastic chip tune music. The music is something a gamer could easily jam to and not be ashamed of doing so. The fact that only about ten colors is used in the whole game only strengthens the visuals of the game and makes it look all the better. There are no collectibles of any coins or a heart system so one touch of anything deadly will kill the player. The re-spawns are nice since they are instant but they can't really help with some of the levels absurd difficulty.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Kairobotica

Title: Kairobotica
Format: Android
Release Date: August 02, 2012
Publisher: Kairosoft 
Developer: Kairosoft
Price: $4.99
ESRB Rating: All
 
Kairosoft seems to have found its niche in the mobile games business with its strategy sims. What Kairobotica does is similar to some of their previous game's formula, only this has exploration, battles, and lots of robots. Everything is molded together to create an addicting little game that will last you months.

Saturday, August 25, 2012

An S&S Perspective: Asynchronous iOS Gaming

      If there is one thing iOS devices, or mobile platforms in general, have done for the gaming industry it's bringing about a multiplayer revolution. iOS games also generally tend to be great for playing a few minutes at a time, like on the bus or between classes. What if the two aspects were combined? Multiplayer games that can be picked up and played for a minutes at a time. Good news! It already has! They're called asynchronous games and they've recently been dominating the app store. Obvious pop ular titles such as Words With Friends or Draw Something come to mind, but there are so many great asynchronous games hidden away in the app store. So I'm going to show my top 5 favorite asynchronous iOS games.

S&S Review: Counter-Strike Global Offensive

Title: Counter Strike Global Offensive
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC, Mac
Release Date: August 21, 2012
Publisher: Valve
Developer: Valve, Hidden Path
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: M

Counter Strike has to be one of the most hardcore first person shooters ever created, and with Global Offensive, the biggest overhaul yet only improves upon an already solid foundation.

Friday, August 24, 2012

S&S Review: New Super Mario Bros. 2

Title: New Super Mario Bros. 2
Format: Nintendo 3DS
Release Date: August 19, 2012
Publisher: Nintendo
Developer: Nintendo EAD
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: E

Consider that in 1988 Super Mario Bros. 2 was released in North America. At that time, Nintendo Power was launched. Nintendo of America decided to pass on the original sequel to Super Mario Bros. partially because it was not enough of a true sequel. Today, we have New Super Mario Bros. Nintendo Power is reaching the end of its publication run. Nintendo itself markets this new game in the series with, "It's all about the gold." Gamers and Mario fans should be forgiven for being a little cynical. For what its worth, New Super Mario Bros. 2 isn't a bad game. It fails to rise to the expectations, however, of a good Mario game. And while the advertising may play up the gold, the coins don't appear to be the true focal point.

Thursday, August 23, 2012

An S&S Perspective: The KickStarter Revolution!


      Over the past few years a crowd funding website known as KickStarter has been picking up steam. Launched on April 28th, 2009, KickStarter has funded a diverse array of products, ranging from indie films, comics, music, and food related projects. Recently though, video games and gaming related projects have really bursted  into the KickStarter scene. It's a great tool for smaller developers of games and game-related projects to receive financial (and moral) support from their supporters.

Wednesday, August 22, 2012

S&S Review: Transformers: Fall of Cybertron

Title: Transformers: Fall of Cybertron
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: August 21, 2012 (UK August 24, 2012)
Publisher: Activision
Developer: High Moon Studios
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: T

The Transformers games haven't really had a great track record when it comes to games, but War for Cybertron and the newly released Fall of Cybertron have really broken the stigma surrounding the nearly 30 year old franchise.

Monday, August 20, 2012

S&S Review: Darksiders II

Title: Darksiders II
Format: XBox 360, PS3, PC, Wii U (Q4 2012)
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Publisher: THQ
Developer: Vigil Games
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M


Darksiders II poises itself as THQ's Final Fantasy. The origin stories of Square's flagship RPG series is a bit confused. Whether it was a last ditch effort for Sakaguchi or Square itself, Final Fantasy was a gamble that paid off well and established a classic video game. In that sense, Darksiders II comes from THQ and Vigil at a point of financial decline to say the least. The industry on the whole is bedeviled with layoffs and studio closures, and yet gamers still get the products they want from people who care very much. There's beauty to the images of Death riding across alien worlds in search of redemption for his brother War. If you have not bought the game by reading this review, you should.

S&S Mobile Review: The Last Ace of Space




Title: The Last Ace of Space
Format: iOS
Release Date: July 21st, 2012
Publisher: Astro Crow
Developer: Astro Crow
Price: $0.99
ESRB Rating: 9+

      Help Ace the space cat and his gaseous friend Rocket-Pig escape a giant slime monster and many more horrific aliens in The Last Ace of Space!

Saturday, August 18, 2012

S&S Review: The Last Story

Title: The Last Story
Format: Wii
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Publisher: Xseed Games
Developer: Mistwalker
Price: $49.99
ESRB Rating: T

The Last Story is planned to be the last one from the great Hironobu Sakaguchi, and since I am a huge Final Fantasy fan, I had to pick up "last" game.  I actually don't believe this since Final Fantasy was supposed to be his last game, now with more than a dozen FF games, I can only be a skeptic when he says that his latest adventure will be his last.

S&S Mobile Review: Dynamite Jack



Title: Dynamite Jack
Format: iOS, Mac, PC, Linux
Release Date: May 10th, 2012 (Mac/PC/Linux), August 9th, 2012 (iOS)
Publisher: Phil Hassey
Developer: Phil Hassey
Price: $2.99/ $4.99(iOS,Mac,PC,Linux versions all bundled together)
ESRB Rating: 9+

            Like stealth? Like explosions? Then you're going to love Dynamite Jack.

Friday, August 17, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Sticky Bump


Title: Sticky Bump
Format: Xbox Live Indie Game
Genre: Action & Adventure
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Developer: KeeWeed
Price: 80 MSP
Rating: Violence = 0/3, Sex = 0/3, Mature Content = 0/3

Sticky Bump is a fun local multiplayer game from Dutch developer, KeeWeed. The objective is simple - battle other bumper cars to collect cones and deliver them to the goal. The more cones you collect, the more points you earn. Cars with white borders are “sticky” and can collect the smaller cones by bumping into them. Cars with black borders are the “bullies” that are charged with the task of preventing stickies from delivering their batch of cones by any means necessary. The strategy is up to you - use speed boosts to chase down your opponents, outfox them by changing routes at the last minute, or play spoiler and spread out the cones to make their job that much trickier. The possibilities are endless which gives Sticky Bump tremendous replay value.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

An S&S Perspective: Games That Should Come To iOS Devices

      iOS Devices have really shown a great potential for games in the past few years, thanks to the Apple AppStore. It allows very easy distribution of games for a wide variety of developers and while the AppStore has many, great, new, and unique games available, most are very bad, low quality games. I love the new iOS specific games, but I also love playing my favorite, older games that have been ported over to the AppStore. One company that does a great job porting over many of their games is Sega. They have all of their classic games such as the Sonic, Streets of Rage, and Golden Axe games. While Sega does a great job with iOS support, many companies ignore mobile gaming entirely, leaving iOS gamers with no way to play our favorite games on our mobile devices. So, I decided to make a list of my top 5 games I want ported to iOS devices.

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

S&S XBLA Review: 'Dust: An Elysian Tail' Review

Title: Dust: An Elysian Tail
Format: Xbox 360
Release Date: 15/08/2012 (Out Now)
Publisher: Microsoft Studios
Developer: Humble Hearts (Dean Dodrill)
Price: 1200 MSP
ESRB Rating: 10+

   A mystical, hand painted and fantastical 2D/3D side scroller with an engaging and immersive story.

S&S Review: Sleeping Dogs

Title: Sleeping Dogs
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: August 14, 2012
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: United Front Games
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: M

The release of Sleeping Dogs officially ends the long summer draught, and it marks the start of a very promising fall and winter.  This is a great way to kick off the season, with a great open world adventure...

Monday, August 13, 2012

A S&S Perspective: Why is Super Mario so Great



Super Mario Bros Review
Mario has been the favorite character of the gaming world over the years and if there is one character that has won more hearts than Mario, it has to be the Super Mario. This arises from the fact that the Super Mario Bros game of the md 1980s is considered to be the resurrecting factor of the gaming industry when everyone thought it had withered away. But what was so awesome about the Super Mario Bros game? What made it into the icon that it is today. While the reasons are endless, the following review will answer a lot of question you might be having:

Saturday, August 11, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Dédale


Title: Dédale
Format: iOS, Mac, PC
Release Date: August 7th, 2012
Publisher: Sergey Mohov
Developer: Sergey Mohov
Price: $0.99(AppStore) $2.99 (Mac/PC)
ESRB Rating: 4+


      A relaxing puzzler with a pleasant art style and soothing soundtrack.

S&S XBLA Review: Hybrid




Title: Hybrid
Format: Xbox 360
Release Date: Out now
Publisher: Microsoft Studios
Developer: 5th Cell
Price: 1200 MSP
ESRB Rating: Online interactions not rated

       Morning/afternoon or evening to whoever is reading this, my first post on the S&S reviewing team. I hope you all enjoy my weekly reviews. I will definitely try to get round to reviewing as many new releases in the Xbox 360 and possibly PS3 and promise to bring you all a non biased take on the games, no promises on opinions coming through but I'm sure the comment section is there for all to have a civilised discussion. But to the reviewing, today  I've decided personally for my first game review to be the latest addition to Microsofts 'Summer of arcade' selection, Hybrid.

Friday, August 10, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Notebook Adventures

 Notebook Adventures- Six3six Studios
XBLIG
Released 4/8/11
80ms points
Rating Based on Community   Violence 1/3   Sex 0/3    Mature Content 0/3










  Hi everyone, this week I am going to talk everyone through the game Notebook Adventures which is a 2-d platformer indie game.  This game is a little dated, but is a great platformer that should brought up on this site.  This game for me is very refreshing because I love platformers and grew up on them and to see games that go back to the classic formula is exciting.  I feel like most games today are carbon copy first person shooters and so the fps games have lost their uniqueness while platformers have had their time off and can be re-mastered.  

Thursday, August 9, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Chopper Storm

Title: Chopper Storm
Format: XBLIG
Release Date: 8/4/2012
Publisher: XBLIG
Developer: Iridescent Games
Price: 80 MS Points
ESRB Rating: Rated by community, Violence=1/3, Sex=0/3, Mature Content=0/3

If there is any indie game that deserves attention, it's this one.  Chopper Storm is SHMUP  developed by Iridescent Games, and it isn't a walk in the park.  Or maybe it is, if the park you're walking through gets you killed easily and yet you're still tempted to walk through it over and over again when you come back to life.

S&S Review: Sound Shapes

Title: Sound Shapes
Format: PSN
Release Date:  August 7, 2012
Publisher: SCEA
Developer: Queasy Games
Price: $14.99
ESRB Rating: E

The PSN has been getting some pretty great exclusives lately, Dyad for one, and now Sound Shapes.  This comes from the geniuses at Queasy Games, who created Everyday Shooter, and similar to ES, music drives the game from beginning to end.  

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Trigger Fist

Title: Trigger Fist
Format: iOS
Release:August 8th, 2012
Publisher: Lake Effect/ Eric Rall
Developer:  Lake Effect/ Eric Rall
Price:$4.99
ESRB Rating:+9


      A simple yet immersive 3rd Person Shooter for iOS devices. 

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

S&S Review: Kingdom Hearts 3D Dream Drop Distance

Title: Kingdom Hearts 3D Dream Drop Distance
Format: Nintendo 3DS
Release Date: July 31, 2012
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: Square Enix
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: E10+

There is perhaps no storyline more confusing than Kingdom Hearts. In 2002, we were presented with a Disney RPG crossover that blended in Final Fantasy cameos and cool action gameplay. In 2012, we have a game that is a touch lighter on the Disney characters, the Final Fantasy characters in name only, and gameplay that perhaps introduces too much at the same time. That aside, the epic of Sora and Riku continues as they protect the worlds from the machinations of Master Xehanort.

S&S Reviews: Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure


Title: Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure
Format: Nintendo 3DS
Release Date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: Sega
Developer: Xeen
Price: $29.99
ESRB Rating: E10+


Perhaps owing no less than a great debt to the likes of Tintin and Lupin the Third, Sega's Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure bursts onto the 3DS heralded by the fanfare of previous rhythm game Theatrhythm Final Fantasy. The game stars a young orphan and his friendly canine companion. We follow their adventures as the mystery surrounding the boy's father's disappearance is unraveled. The story is quick and compelling set against a coloful backdrop of Paris. The music serenades us with catchy melodies and classical inspriation. The gameplay features a wide range of modes to master. Overall, this is perhaps one of Sega's more inspired games and stands up well against legacy such as Space Channel Five.

S&S Review: Persona 4 Arena

Title: Persona 4 Arena
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: August 7, 2012
Publisher: Atlus
Developer: Arc System Works
Price: $59.99
ESRB Rating: T

I have always been a fan of the Persona series, but Persona 4 Arena really caught my interest right from when it was announced.  Anybody with a working pair of eyes will easily realize the immense amount of style this game oozes out.  

Monday, August 6, 2012

S&S Review: The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim - Dawnguard

Title:  The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim - Dawnguard
Format: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Release Date: August 2, (PS3 TBA)
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Developer: Bethesda Game Studios
Price: $19.99
ESRB Rating: M

I know that I'm a little party when it comes to Dawnguard, but after around 80 hours of Skyrim, I wanted to take a little break from the world of Tamriel.  After all the anticipation for new content,  I was pretty excited when I finally got the DLC installed and ready to go.  

Saturday, August 4, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: World of Goo

Title: World of Goo
Format: iOS
Release Date:December 16th, 2010 (iOS), November 2nd, 2008(Mac OSX)
Publisher: 2D Boy
Developer:Kyle Gabler and Ron Carmel
Price:$4.99
ESRB Rating:E

      A quirky physic-based puzzle game with a unique art style.
      You may ask why I'm reviewing a game thats been on the market for a few years. I'm reviewing it so late because I feel like World of goo is a great game but it's unfortunately under-appreciated so I thought I'd just "remind" everyone of this great game.

S&S Review: The Expendables 2 Videogame

Title: The Expendables 2 
Format: PSN
Release Date: August 1, 2012
Publisher: Ubisoft
Developer: ZootFly LLC.
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: M


I haven't played or even reviewed a bad game in quite some time, but The Expendables 2 really takes the cake.  I actually had high hopes for this game, the four player blow em' style gameplay looks good on paper, but doesn't transfer at all on screen.  

Friday, August 3, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: NeonStarlight


Title: NeonStarlight
Format: iOS
Release Date:August 10th, 2012
Publisher: Adam Latchem(Intrepid Universe)
Developer: Adam Latchem(Intrepid Universe)
Price: $1.99
ESRB Rating: 4+

      NeonStarlight is a 3D adventure puzzle game where you navigate fun and infuriating puzzles and discover the secrets of the Emerald Scout team. 

Thursday, August 2, 2012

S&S Indie Review: I MAED A GAM3 W1TH Z0MBIES 1N IT!!!1

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/01/I_MAED_A_GAM3_W1TH_Z0MB1ES!!!1_cover.jpg

Title: I MAED A GAM3 W1TH Z0MBIES 1N IT!!!1
Format: XBLIG
Release Date: August 16, 2009
Publisher: Ska Studios
Developer: Ska Studios
Price: 80 MS Points
ESRB Rating: Rated by Community - Violence = 2/3, Sex = 0/3, Mature Content = 1/3


It's been almost three years since this game first graced the Indie Marketplace, and chances are you may have already picked it up, so why choose to review a product that's been circulating the digital domain for some time?

S&S Review: Deadlight

Title: Deadlight
Format: XBLA
Release Date: August 1, 2012
Publisher:  Microsoft Game Studios
Developer: Tequila Works
Price: $15
ESRB Rating: M


Well it looks like we have another gory zombie game on our hands, and its a great one.  Deadlight really has a lot of great gameplay mixed in with one of the best presentation's I have seen in a XBLA game to date.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: Zenonia

Title: Zenonia
Format: iOS, Android, DSi, PSP, Windows Mobile
Release Date: May 24th, 2009
Publisher: Gamevil
Developer: Gamevil
Price:$0.00
ESRB Rating: E10+

Looking for a great mobile RPG that's also free? Then Zenonia is what you're looking for!


Zenonia is an action role-playing game developed and published by Gamevil for iOS, Android, Playstation Portables, Nintendo DS, and Windows Mobile. Released on May 24th, 2009 Zenonia is a unique Korean RPG following the story of Regret, a young man, trying to find the cause of his adopted fathers death. You direct Regret through beautifully rendered environments with an onscreen d-pad while destroying monsters and finishing quests. In the game you choose between three unique classes, the Paladin, Warrior, or Assassin each with unique skill sets and fighting styles. As Regret, you also have to make choices that affect your moral alignment, Good or Evil, which change the storyline drastically. Gamevil claims Zenonia contains 40 hours of gameplay, including replays of different classes and alignments. Overall Zenonia is an amazing mobile RPG, with a great art style and a lot of content. Zenonia is a must own game for all iOS gamers and that's why I'm giving it a 9.0/ 10.

S&S Mobile Review: Catapult King

Title: Catapult King
Format: iOS
Release Date: June 7th, 2012
Publisher: Chillingo
Developer: Wicked Witch Games
Price:$0.00 for the week/$ 0.99 usually
ESRB Rating: 9+

A simple fairy tale story becomes something much greater in this fantastic new physics puzzler.