Tuesday, July 31, 2012

S&S Mobile Review: N.O.V.A. 3

Title: N.O.V.A. 3
Format: Apple App Store
Release Date:
Publisher:Gameloft
Developer: Gameloft
Price:$6.99
ESRB Rating:12+


Would you like Halo on your iOS devices? Well N.O.V.A. 3 is the closest you're ever going to get.

N.O.V.A 3, or Near Orbit Vanguard Alliance, is Gameloft's third installment of the critically acclaimed N.O.V.A series. Released on May 10th, 2012 for the iOS App Store, Android Marketplace, and a planned Blackberry Playbook version, N.O.V.A 3 takes everything great about the first two games and improves upon them. The game follows N.O.V.A Commander Kal Wardin and his squad of soldiers responding to a distress call on the long abandoned planet Earth. Upon lading they have to battle their way to the closest N.O.V.A outpost. On their way the squad has to deal with The Judger's, a historically docile alien race that now inhabits Earth, to figure out why The Judger's have started to attack the N.O.V.A. Kal ends up finding out that they had knowingly stolen one of the Judger's sacred artifacts. Upon learning this, Kal vows to quit the N.O.V.A. forever.
Overall, NOVA is a great mobile shooter. It has okay controls and a very shallow plot but it has amazing graphics for iOS and shows the true potential of the devices and gives hope for having a console quality mobile game and that's why I'm giving NOVA 3 an 8/10.

S&S Indie Review: Avatar Trivia Party

Title: Avatar Trivia Party 2
Format: XBLIG
Release Date: July 28, 2012
Publisher: XBLIG
Developer: Mike Ventron
Price: 80 MS Points
ESRB Rating:  Rated by Community - Violence=0/3, Sex=0/3, Mature Content=1/3

Do you like board games?  Do you like competition?  Do you like that competition to be your friends?   More importantly, do you like winning against your friends?  Of course you do.  We all do.  If you're smart enough (or just hold a strange amount of random information in your head) then you just might win in Avatar Trivia Party 2.

S&S Indie Review: Starchon

Title: Starchon // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: September 26, 2010 // Developer: Freelance Games // Price: 80 MS points Each // Violence: 1/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 1/3

This is the last game from Freelance that I'll be covering for awhile, yes queue up the depressing violin music, and this one doesn't have a single boob or scantily clad dressed woman in sight.  

Monday, July 30, 2012

S&S Review: Heroes of Ruin



Title: Heroes of Ruin
Format: Nintendo 3DS
Release Date: July 17, 2012
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: n-Space
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: T
You turn in a paper and it's returned with a note in red ink, "Needs more work". So you try again, you gather your notes you scratch up the smallest detail until you've talked the subject to death. The next note comes back, "Almost, See me after class". It's a frustrating experience for you. The teacher know what she wants out of this paper, but she find it hard to communicate to you in a way you would understand. Sure, you've done exemplary work, but she believes you're capable of so much more. That's a bit of what it feels like to play Heroes of Ruin. A show of promise, but it needs more work.

Sunday, July 29, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Trailer Park King Episodes 1&2

Title: Trailer Park King Epsiode 1 and 2  // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: July 2012 // Developer: Freelance Games // Price: 80 MS points Each // Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 3/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

The guys at Freelance Games have been getting a lot of attention from me lately, and I have been having a good time with all of their games.  The Trailer Park King games is the latest series I've been sinking my teeth into, so to speak.

Saturday, July 28, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Quiet Please

Title: Quiet, Please!
Format: XBLIG
Release Date: April 12th, 2012
Publisher: Nostatic Software
Developer: Nostatic Software
Price: 80 MS Points
ESRB Rating: Violence=0/3, Sex=0/3, Mature Content=2/3. 

What is the number one thing you’d wish to have when you live with a noisy family? Exactly. Some peace and quiet. Quiet, Please becomes somewhat of an excitement, as you wonder repeatedly around your rather frantic household. A 16-Bit puzzle game may sound intriguing, but don’t let the small amount of puzzles fool you. This puzzle game will be sure to make use of its replay value.

Friday, July 27, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Obsessive Collecting Dissorder

Title: Obsessive Collecting Disorder  // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 7/6/2012 // Developer: Hyped Hamster // Price: 80 MS points // Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 1/3


I always enjoy a good platforming game, with Obsessive Collecting Disorder, I have found a fun and challenging platformer.  

Thursday, July 26, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Cherry Poke Prison



Title: Cherry Poke Prison // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 6/14/2012 // Developer: Freelance Games // Price: 80 MS points // Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 3/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

The provocatively named Cherry Poke Princess is an indie game similar to other games like Mystic Forest, which I reviewed earlier this week.  It really caught my eye instantly, for some strange reason, and I'm glad I slapped down a buck for it.

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Ninja Exorcist Episode 1



Title: Ninja Exorcist Episode 1 // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 7/23/2012 //  Developer: Nebula Game Studios // Price: 80 MS points // Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 2/3

Ninja Exorcist Episode 1 is hopefully the first of many in the Ninja Exorcist universe, this could easily be one of my favorite indie games I've ever played.  Nebula Game Studios has a gem on their hands, and hopefully over time, they will perfect the game and it's mechanics.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Super Killer Hornet


 Title: Super Killer Hornet // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 19/07/2012 // Publisher & Developer: Flump Studios // Price: 80 MS points // Violence: 0/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 0/3

My old high school mathematics teacher warned me I'll need the power of numbers in my head when venturing out into the big wide world.

Monday, July 23, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Sushi Castle



Title: Sushi Castle
Format: Xbox Live Indie Game
Genre: Action
Release Date: July 12, 2012
Developer: Milkstone Studios
Price: 80 MSP
Rating: Violence=3/3, Sex=2/3, Mature Content=2/3

Sushi Castle is a Binding of Isaac clone, so naturally they share a lot of characteristics. Both have outrageous enemies, plenty of blood, and draw heavily from games like The Legend of Zelda. But Milkstone Studios admittedly wanted to take what they liked about BoI and put it in their own style, and they did it well. It’s shorter, cheaper, and more accessible to a wider audience given its toned down nature. That said, there are still some gross and disturbing elements that you’ll also find in Binding of Isaac.

S&S Indie Review: Mystic Forest


Title: Mystic Forest // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 06-26-12 // Developer: Team Shuriken // Price: 80 Microsoft Points //Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 3/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

 Mystic Forest is a real treat for your eyes, especially if you're a guy, and thats basically all the game has going for it.  Me being late to the party, its only one of the many alluring games that came from Team Shuriken.  

Saturday, July 21, 2012

S&S Review: Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends

Title: Test Drive: Ferrari Racing Legends
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: July 2012
Publisher: Atari
Developer: Slightly Mad Studios
Price: $49.99
ESRB Rating: E


I've always been a fan of the Test Drive franchise, mainly because of how consistently good their racers have been.  With Ferrari Racing Legends though, it just doesn't compare to the other good games in the series, especially in terms of quality.  

Friday, July 20, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Dead Pixels

XBLIG: Mike Nunez
Title: Dead Pixels
Format: XBLIG
Release Date: September 15, 2011
Publisher: XBLIG
Developer: CSR Studios
Price: 80 MS Points
ESRB Rating: This game was classified by the community with the following category scores - Violence=3/3, Sex=3/3, Mature Content=3/3. 

Shooting zombies these days become nothing but of the norm. Weither it be watching an intense zombie movie, TV show, or just blowing some zombie brains out to release your inner rambo self. A 2D side scroller that is sure to have you grasping your controller, Dead Pixel is a cheap, fun and cool zombie shooter that makes any side scroller fan feel pleased. But does CSR Studios game live up to its other zombie predecessors? .... (That means keep reading to find out) 

Thursday, July 19, 2012

S&S Review: Rainbow Moon



Title: Rainbow Moon
Format: PSN 
Release Date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: EastAsiaSoft
Developer: SideQuest Studios
Price: $14.99
ESRB Rating: E


Rainbow Moon snuck right under the radar this summer, even with the yearly summer drought.  Old school turn based RPG's on the PS3 are very rare to come across, any fans of the genre will be glad to know that, Rainbow Moon is a gem.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

S&S Review: NCAA Football 13

Title: NCAA Football 13
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: July 10, 2012
Publisher: EA
Developer: Tiburon
Price: $49.99
ESRB Rating: E

I used to be one of the many football fans who would pick up the new iteration Madden and NCAA, well that was quite long ago.  I have a system now of buying one or the other, every other year.  NCAA 13 continues the long push towards to being the most realistic college football game ever created.

Monday, July 16, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Dyad

Title: Dyad
Format: PSN
Release Date: July 17, 2012
Publisher: RSBLSB Games
Developer: RSBLSB Games
Price: $14.99
ESRB Rating: E


Its very rare to come across games that are unique and great, with current games all trying to cash out from all the latest trends, its good to finally play something different.  Dyad is proof that you don't need hordes of zombies, or a M4 Assault Rifle with a reflex attached to have fun in a game.

Sunday, July 15, 2012

S&S Review: Theatrhythm Final Fantasy

Title: Theatrhythm: Final Fantasy
Format: Nintendo 3DS
Release Date: July 3, 2012
Publisher: Square Enix
Developer: indieszero
Price: $39.99
ESRB Rating: E10+

So you think you can rhythm? Theatrhythm: Final Fantasy is the prospective start of a new Square Enix franchise. Featuring sweet RPG nostalgia coated with heavy percussionist action, this game is addicting and fun. The showcase of themes and background music present a pastiche of old and new, from Nobuo Uematsu to Masashi Hamauzu. At same time, you will be able to develop characters and level grind as you practice your way to SSS rankings.

S&S Indie Review: Little Ninjas


S&S Reviews-Little Ninjas by Blanc Game Studio
XBLIG- Justin Foster
Released 7/11/12
80ms points
Rating Based on Community   Violence 2/3   Sex 0/3    Mature Content 0/3
            





 Hey everyone, hope everyone has found a few good games to pick up during the summer gaming drought.  Before I dive into my review I would like to recommend everyone check out Steam summer sales.  There are some decent deals up there and every day has some new deals, in addition every eight hours they have a spotlight deal that the community votes on.  Hopefully that will make summer gaming more enjoyable. That being said let’s take a look at Little Ninjas which is categorized as a Platformer.  This is one of the indie games that have a good core game play that I think that most people would enjoy. In general I try to aim myself towards the Indie games that I feel like have the most appealing core game play.  While this game has that it is also an example of a game that falls apart because of the little details.

Saturday, July 14, 2012

S&S Review: Bellator MMA Onslaught



Title: Bellator MMA Onslaught 
Format: PSN, XBLA
Release Date:  July 3, 2012
Publisher: 345 Games
Developer: Kung Fu Factory
Price: $14.99
ESRB Rating: T


I'm taking a little hiatus from all the indie games to catch back up on the more "mainstream" s titles, if you will.  Bellator was an easy choice for me, any kind of MMA kind of game will always get my attention.  So far, its been a surprising joy to pulverize any opponent crazy enough to step in the ring to challenge me.

Thursday, July 12, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Battlepaths


Title: Battlepaths // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 06-2-12 // Developer: Key17 Games // Price: 80 Microsoft Points //Violence: 1/3 // Sex: 1/3 // Mature Content: 1/3

I always enjoy a good old school style RPG that I can spend countless hours in, with a good story and great gameplay.  So far, Battlepaths just doesn't satiate my need for more good retro style rpgs.  

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

S&S Indie Review: The Rise of Gaddafish


Title: The Rise of Gaddafish // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 07-5-12 // Publisher & Developer: Baller Industries // Price: 80 Microsoft Points //Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 2/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

When it comes to The Rise of Gaddafish, I have never played anything more bizzare, but funny at the same time.  The half hour journey through the rise of Gaddafish is a special one.

Monday, July 9, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Andy's Notepad [Saucers]



Title: Andy's Notepad // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 06-29-12 // Publisher & Developer: Coneware // Price: 80 Microsoft Points //Violence: 0/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 0/3

Every day there a number of indie games released through Xbox Live, there are some good games, but a lot of bad ones mixed in along with em'.  Luckily Andy's Notepad is a great big breath of simplicity.

S&S Indie Review: Absolute War


S&S Reviews- Absolute War-By Gnol Wehttam Inc.
XBLIG- Justin Foster
Released 7/9/12
80ms points
Rating Based on Community   Violence 1/3   Sex 0/3    Mature Content 0/3
         








 Hello everyone, I hope everyone stateside had a good Fourth of July.  This week I dove into a pretty challenging game called Absolute War.  When I say challenging I do mean it in an entertaining way.  I don’t want to scare anyone off before I get to explain this game.  Let’s start by getting some basics out of the way.  This game is a strategy game.  It is classified as a shooter, but it’s about position and unit composition more than actually shooting.  Let me also be clear that the controls are not something you’re going to be familiar with.  It is going to take a good hour before the controls can be handled without hesitation.  That being said, the time you put into learning the game will reflect how fun the game will be.

Sunday, July 8, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Super Amazing Wagon Adventure


Title: Super Amazing Wagon Adventure // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 07-06-12 // Publisher & Developer: sparsevector // Price: 80 Microsoft Points //Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 2/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

>>> If the creators were to have instead titled this game Super Amazing Wagon, then it'd be perfect solely for the acronym that would come about (S.A.W.). As blocky and pixelated as this game may first appear, it's a visual masterpiece. Okay, okay, so it's no Gran Turismo 5, but Super Amazing Wagon Adventure does a lot with its graphics that serve as a throwback to Oregon Trail and feature quite a range of animations due to the ways in which you dispose of the enemy threat in your path. I had forgotten that 8-bit imitations could feature boat-loads of gore until this bargain of a game came along on the XBox 360. It's only been two days, but Perdition is old news. I may have entered a grandiose love affair with this bloodbath of an adventure.

S&S Indie Review: RotoSchutzen


Title: RotoSchutzen // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 5/07/2012 // Publisher & Developer: Owen Deery // Price: 80 MS points // Violence: 1/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 0/3

It's not difficult to understand the challenges being faced by Indie game developers; after all they need to come up with an idea and execute it with limited resources and assistance. It's perhaps for that reason that Indie games deserve some slack when it comes to petty complaints about a title that might be warranted for a game from a bigger format.

S&S Indie Review: S. Avatar Fighting Tournament


Title: Super Avatar Fighting Tournament: Indie Addition // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 07-05-12 // Publisher & Developer: Buhd // Price: 80 Microsoft Points // Violence: 2/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 0/3

Well, it certainly doesn't throw you in the thick of the action quite like Wii Sports, nor does it hang tough with the fighting game heavyweights such as Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter. But there's no denying that S.Avatar Fighting Tournament does well in effortlessly assimilating your avatar right into the game's engine. You may not be punching and kicking along with your guy (or gal) via the Kinect's motion sensor, but you may as well say it's you versus your friends...or avatars randomly generated by the computer.

Thursday, July 5, 2012

S&S Review: Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown

Title: Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown
Format: PS3, Xbox 360
Release Date: June 6, 2012
Publisher: SEGA
Developer: SEGA
Price: $15, (Free for PS+ Members)
ESRB Rating: T


Even with gaming behemoths like Tekken and Street Fighter, there are those that still think that the Virtua Fighter series has the best and deepest fighting system on the market to date.

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

S&S Demo Review: Resident Evil 6



Title: Resident Evil 6 Demo
Format: Xbox Live
Release Date: July 3, 2012
Publisher: Capcom
Developer: Capcom
Price: Free with purchase of Dragons Dogma
ESRB Rating: Pending



Five months after the reveal of RE6, the XBox Live community gets an early access demo of the action-horror game. We're going to take liberties with the genre, because the focus of the game is no longer survival. It's an odd thing to see a series take such a wild departure. Despite the progression to this point, some of the updated mechanics seem unpolished or broken. This game seems more a follow up to Operation Raccoon City as opposed to RE: Revelations. This may be the title that will catch the most flack from fans. Action gamers, however, who only care about gameplay may find some value.

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

S&S Review: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine

Title: Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine
Format: PS3, Xbox 360, PC
Release Date: September 6, 2011
Publisher: THQ
Developer: Relic
Price: $20
ESRB Rating: M

Since the summer drought is now officially upon us, this gives me ample time to delve deep into my enormous backlog of games to complete.  Warhammer was an unlikely great first start for me.

Sunday, July 1, 2012

S&S Indie Review: Perdition


Title: Perdition // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 06-07-2012 // Publisher: Amalgation Softworks // Developer: Samuel H. Potter // Price: 240 MS Points // Violence: 3/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 3/3

Samuel H. Potter gave me the impression that he played the daylights out of Amnesia. I say this because his top-down hack-and-slash, Perdition, takes on the same themes of hopelessness and fear. You play a criminal who may or may not be guilty of a list of ambiguous crimes, but regardless is sentenced to an underground labyrinth known as Perdition (or Hell). Your forsaken protagonist must navigate his way through the nine levels of Perdition in order to do what no other prisoner has been able to do: escape. 

S&S Indie Review: Pulse: Fight the Night


S&S Reviews- Pulse: Fight the Night- by Six String Games
XBLIG- Justin Foster
Released 6/28/12
80ms points
Rating based on community: Violence:0/3 Sex:0/3 Mature Content:0/3            







  Hey there everyone. This weekend I started playing the game Pulse: Fight the Night on Xbox 360.  It is a classic arcade style game.  Personally I had a blast with this game and the only flaw I can really come up with is that the idea is not very original.  The game is very similar to Geometry Wars which is an Arcade game that is on Xbox Live Marketplace.  So if you’re interested in classic arcade style games stop reading this and go download this game, if you’re unsure I’ll do my best to explain why this game is appealing. 


S&S Indie Review: Chompy Chomp Chomp


Title: Chompy Chomp Chomp // Format: XBLIG // Release Date: 24/05/12 // Publisher & Developer: Utopian World of Sandwiches // Price: 80 MS points // Violence: 0/3 // Sex: 0/3 // Mature Content: 0/3 


In today's gaming climate of highly competitive multiplayer shooters, it's nice once in a while to kick back and enjoy a deathmatch game that doesn't have the occasional side effect of you launching your controller across the room whilst vowing the disembowelment of all the opposition players.

S&S Indie Review: Blackwell's Asylum

Title: Blackwell's Asylum
Platform: PC
Release Date: 7 June, 2012
Publisher: Blackpipe
Developer: Blackpipe
Price: Free (Demo)
ESRB Rating: N/A


A "survival horror" game that has very little of either.