Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Short and Sweet Review: Lego Harry Potter Years 5-7





After watching the highly anticipated Part 2 of Deathly Hallows, I wanted to try this last Lego Harry Potter game and I got what I expected and more.  The magic of the Harry Potter franchise proved the perfect backdrop for Lego's eclectic gameplay and goofy puzzle solving, and Hogwarts Castle makes a cool HUB for the diverse world.  


Presentation:
If you've played any kind of Lego video game like Lego Pirates or Lego Star Wars, you know exactly how the game will look.  Its your standard Lego game presentation that consists of little quirky fun gestures that make up for lack of voice overs.  This is expected and doesn't detract from the game in anyway.  There are a lot of pre-rendered backgrounds to go with the diverse settings and cool destructible polygonal structures.    TT's take on locations like Hogsmeade, the Room of Requirement, and the Ministry of Magic are spot on and great fan service for hardcore fans of the games and movies.  You'll here the iconic subtle orchestral score that has been in the games and the movies we've all come to love.






Gameplay:
Players spend most of their time within the levels solving light puzzles, and blasting apart anything made of legos.   Its your basic standard fare of platforming and puzzle-solving.  The "puzzle solving" here is less about actual lateral thinking and more about exploring the environment and using spells according to what you see.  Its very simple and great for me since I hate outlandish puzzles in games that don't need it.  Most of the spells are the same from the previous game but there are a couple of new ones.


Traveller's Tales has thankfully made the hub world surrounding the castle even bigger this time around.  You'll be able to explore a portion of the Dark Forest, the Hogwarts observatory and a "muggle world" London scene among others.  The centerpiece addition to this sequel is undoubtedly the dueling system, however. It's a smart inclusion, given that combat has never been the Lego franchise's strong suit. At certain scripted times players enter one-on-one dueling circles with key opponents.   Its ok I guess, I found myself wanting to get back to the story and core gameplay, but its a cool addition.



Final Thoughts:
This is still your standard Lego Harry Potter game with a couple of cool new tricks and additions.  Its a great causal game, its great if you're playing with a buddy on the couch with you.  That has always been the reason for me playing these games, I loved playing it co-op and always will.  Simply, Lego Harry Potter is a light and breezy way for fans of all ages to experience the world of Harry Potter in a new way.


Final Score = 8/10














Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Mario Kart 7



The Mario Kart series is my favorite kart racer of all time.  Good thing a buddy of mine has a 3DS so I could try the seventh numbered entry in the MK series.  With a handful of incredible innovations added to the formula, especially for the online sections, this is a great addition to the franchise.

Presentation:
The 32 courses each provide plenty of eye candy for karters to gape at as they zoom from race to race.  The tracks provide a nice variety and provide nice visuals on the 3DS.  The character models are very impressive, with smooth animations bringing these familiar Mushroom Kingdom personalities to life.  The game provides one of the better examples of 3DS graphics,  I found myself turning the 3D off anyway, I always thought the 3D implementation in the 3DS was a little "gimicky" in the first place.  Although the depth in the game is a pretty cool addition and makes a good subtle change.




Gameplay:
Most of the play options should look familiar to Mario Kart fans. Grand Prix tasks you with racing through the eight different cups, four new ones and four made up of old school tracks.  The new courses are very well-done and a great addition to the original formula.  One of the cool new is Music Park, presumably a nod to Wii Music, has you zooming across keyboards and dodging giant music notes on your way to the finish line.  The inclusion of gliders and underwater segments - a first for the series - vary the standard racing fare and add new twists to the retro tracks.  You use the glider to float your way to the front of the lead if you can master the controls.  They take a little time getting used to, but when you get the hang of it, its quite simple.  


The coins are back and are a welcome addition to MK& mix.  They speed up your kart and gives you a boost.  Collecting coins also unlocks new kart parts.  There are new items that are cool and actually pretty innovative.  The strongest part of Mario Kart 7 has to be the multiplayer. As usual, you have the option to challenge friends locally or via Wi-Fi.  Each player is assigned a VR rating based on how they've fared in past races. This score allows the game to match them with players of a similar skill level. This should help close the gap between newcomers and veterans.  You can now create custom groups and share them with friends and strangers. You can choose to have a Mushroom-only Grand Prix Mirror race or a Shell-only Coin Runner - whatever your karting heart desires.


Final Thoughts: 
 I still believe the character roster should have been larger, and a cheap blue shell can still mess up an otherwise perfect race, but this is a still exceptionally well done MK game. Great controls, cool new tracks, and awesome online make this the best MK yet(other than Mario Kart 64).

Final Score = 9.25/10

Monday, November 28, 2011

Short and Sweet Review: Where Is My Heart?





The next couple of weeks are gonna be pretty barren for game releases but this gives me a chance to try some these indie and PlayStation-mini titles.  Where Is My Heart caught my attention as soon as I logged on to the store.  I was glad to give it a try to to knock off the dust from my psp.  



Presentation:
If you've seen the game through screen-shots  or video, you'll notice the cutesy visuals.  This a recurring vibe you'll come to love as you play through this eccentric game.  The 2D effect they have in the game makes the cool graphics even more prevalent as you'll notice the funny looking faces(funny in a good way) on these most of the monsters.  The subtle yet well-done soundtrack complements the overall presentation of the game immensely.  This creates an instant emotional connection with the player and won't let go so easy.







Gameplay:

In Where Is My Heart you guide a family of lost monsters to their home tree. This is a fairly simple concept.   Along the way the family collects hearts to form new paths and avoid the different obstacles that threaten their precious lives.  This is a puzzle-driven game, that doesn't necessarily challenge the top-tier puzzle lovers, but is just right for me.  Each monster in the family has an alternate form that gives you access to special abilities. One form boasts the power of the double-jump, while another passes through certain walls and finds footing where others cannot.  Like I said, very basic stuff.  The most cool trippy of the powers comes from the Rainbow Spirit transformation, which gives you the ability to rearrange the panels on the screen in order to view the stage in a new way.   Its similar to Paper Mario in that respect changing the dimensions to 3D from 2D and vice versa.  Just collect hearts to raise your score, but the core is still to guide all your family members to the end of the board.







Final Thoughts: 

This humble Mini demonstrates an exceptional, disorienting level design and heart-aching minimalism. Play it for something a little different, even if the experience doesn't last longer than a few hours.  This was a good distraction for me to take me away from all the holiday blockbusters.  With the incredibly cheap price, this was a easy purchase for me.



Final Score= 7.75/10

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Halo Combat Evolved Anniversary





Presentation:

Halo Anniversary Edition brings back a certain nostalgia to anyone who ever played combat evolved, allowing you to remember all that made this game special and a classic in the first place. This game really looks great and the remastered visuals could pass for a new console game; you are given the choice of switching between the classic and remastered visuals on the fly at anytime in the game other than the cutscenes, showing you not only only how far the consoles have come, but how much effort that was put into this game.

Gameplay:

The campaign is still great fun and is time well spent, but Im sure most people will spend the majority of their time in the multiplayer that is similar to Halo reach, in terms of rank and how the levels are played. Although there are only a total of 6 returning maps the multiplayer is just as exciting any halo game out there.



Final Thoughts:

There is also a new firefight mode, 3D, and some kinect integration but unless u were and are a big halo fan or maybe interested in visiting a classic u may not have ever played, this may not be your game, but if you are either of those people this game is definately worth the time and money.
Final Score = 8.5/10

Friday, November 25, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: WWE '12



Another day another fighting game, Fighter's Week has been pretty jam-packed with great fist-pounding and kick throwing goodness.  I've always been a fan of wrestling ever since The Rock and Stone Cold Steve Austin went at it.  The wrestling games have never reached the state of awesomeness of the N64 days, but I decided to give this new entry a shot.




Presentation:
WWE goes to great lengths to recreate the dramatic and story-driven atmosphere that the WWE thrives on.  That outlandish presentation sets a proper tone for the world of wrestling and completely gets you in the mood of over-the-top writing and sometimes funny scripts.  Flat-out the presentation of WWE '12 is superb.  Many of these characters, particularly their entrances, are highly convincing and life-like.  The teams at THQ and Yukes have gone to great lengths to try to recreate all the new entrances and little intricate animations of the characters.  In this fact, the characters feel unique and never get old to watch in action.  Rope physics, which are new this year, add a new but somewhat minuscule addition to the working formula.  Sometimes the ropes do detract from the games stellar presentation with the occasional weird looking rope.  Other than that I love this side of the game.


Gameplay:
 There are some changes the WWE formula though.  The game's designers have clearly spent a lot of time making every match feel unique and progressive as the match plays out.  Some changes with the controls I feel are for the better and I welcome the with open arms.  They allow players to grapple and chain into light moves and execute more powerful attacks as opponents get weaker.  Dynamic systems for submissions and pins escalate in tension, which create great moments of shouting If youre playing with a buddy on the couch.  The animated transitions between offense and defense are more fluid and smooth.  This gets rid of most awkward moments between the two wrestlers and creates a great experience.  The game contains over 60 fighters.  There are a lot of modes in the but my favorite is Road To Wrestlemania, which has a lot of story.  This lends itself to me because I love stories in games.



Final Thoughts:
I didn't play a lot of online but of the few matches I did play, they were lag free.  This the best wrestling game I've played in a long while.  Great presentation and great gameplay make this a must-buy for fans of the genre.


Final Score = 8.75/10

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Tekken Hybrid





This week is officially fighters week, Tekken, King Of Fighters, and the new WWE game.  I've always been a fan of the Tekken game ever since the old school days.  This package consists of a HD package that includes a remake of Tekken Tag Tournament, a 3D version of the CGI film Tekken: Blood Vengeance, and a playable teaser for Tekken Tag Tournament 2. This is a full version of the original PS2 game, with its full roster of fighters already unlocked. 


Presentation:
Graphically, Tekken Tag Tournament looks pretty impressive with the conversion to HD and it plays silky smooth.  The great animations and smooth clip moving stand out and you'll quickly come to appreciate the little nuances the game has.  The character models don't hold quite as much and doesn't benefit all that much with the HD treatment.  Only a few of the characters look a little stiff and blocky compared to others.   The audio is similar to other japanese fighting games, an eclectic mix of otherwise forgettable music.  


Gameplay:
The action in Tekken Tag Tournament is as fast-paced and smoother than ever.  The classic Tekken move set returns, the usual kicks, punches and throws combining nicely with the myriad combos.  Tag represents one of the most different approaches to the Tekken formula, as you have two characters to send into battle, instead of just one.  I've always liked this formula more than the traditional one-vs-one battles.  The game's Netsu Power system, which charges up your resting fighter while the other one takes damage, creates more strategy opportunities that you can capitalize on.  Since I'm a button-masher at heart, I have to spend more time learning the controls.  It takes a lot more patience and skill than the MvC games.


Final Thoughts:
If anything is sorely lacking from Tekken Tag HD, it's the online portion.  I would've liked to have a solid online portion along with the game, but at the already discounted price, I can't complain.  There is a lot to love, from the 3D film to the HD-ified Tekken Tag Tournament.  If you're a fan, this is a definite purchase.  If you're a casual fan like myself, give a try first and see what you think.


Final Score = 8.5/10



Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: King Of Fighters XIII







The new KOF game is finally among us after the big debacle of KOF XII, the previous game received so much flak from the hardcore fans of the franchise.  The franchise has stuck to its original formula, staying firmly set in 2D and offering some improvements here and there while still staying with the old school winning formula.  SNK has included several new modes to make up for the lack of modes of the previous game. There is a Story Mode, a Mission Mode for mastering individual characters' move sets, and a few other new interesting modes.  Since I'm a a sucker for any kind of story, I found myself spending most of my time with the Story mode.  The cutscenes are mediocre, but its cool to see some of the character interacting with one another other than kicking their teeth in.  The visuals are very good, I'm loving the old school 2D type of style.  The sprites look great just like the last game, and you can come to appreciate that kind of hard work of the artists.  The music is OK, pretty standard soundtrack for this type of game.  The big reason for fellow gamers hating the last game was the terrible online, I can honestly say the online is vastly improved.  Its very playable this time around, so I have been getting my rear-end kicked lag free.  I'm going to go deep into the controls because when it comes to fighting games, I'm a big ol' button masher.  Gameplay is tight and slick, and easy to control.  SNK has released a good solid fighting game with good online play, if you're a fan of the series, its a definite purchase.



Final Score = 8/10


Tuesday, November 22, 2011

*Community Review* Short And Sweet Review: The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword



Just in time for the release, someone has finally sent me a review via email, and it comes from Alan34.  He has sent me a good write up for Zelda Skyward Sword, this helps me since I sold my Wii after I beat the previous Zelda game.  So I don't  have to buy a Wii for this game alone anymore, check it out below...


The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is the best Zelda game I've ever played and it kicks all kinds of ass.  This is my favorite Wii game out there now.  What puts Skyward Sword over the top and makes it great is that the Wii motionplus is such a great addition.  It's only when you enter your first combat scenario that things begin to pick up.  Link's sword mirrors your hand movement, so whether you thrust forward or swing horizontally, vertically, or diagonally, you see your actions play out on the screen, like you're actually Link.  Camera controls are OK, but they seem to jump uncontrollably at times.  The dungeons are quite impressive and follow the standard of previous Zelda games.  Puzzles are more unique in that each new item you get , won't be the only way too solve them.  A boss waits at the end of each dungeon, and I guess there OK.  A few problems like the repetitive fetch quests or the occasional controller glitch, don't get in the way of this awesome game.


Final Score = 9/10

Monday, November 21, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Ultimate Marvel Vs. Capcom 3



Capcom has shockingly released a "Ultimate" version of one of the most beloved 2D fighters ever created.  I'm not the biggest fan of these kinds of games, but I've come to appreciate the easier nature of the game.  Its not as difficult as a game to control and pull off moves as a Street Fighter(Which Frustrated the Heck out of ME).  Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 adds in twelve more fighters, six from Marvel and six from Capcom. Add in the two downloadable characters, Jill Valentine and Shuma-Gorath and you've  got a pretty hefty character list.  The total count of 50 characters are great and quite cool to look at, like Frank West, and Ghost Rider.  One of the cool new innovative modes in the game is the new Heroes and Heralds mode,  which allows you to watch two online players pummel on each other(never gets old).  Other than the HAH mode, there isn't much else new to the game.  Graphically,  UMvC3 is as stunning as the previous games.  If you skipped out on Marvel vs. Capcom 3 earlier this year or simply heard about the Ultimate version, this is the perfect time to get in on the great fighting action.  The $39.99 price justifies the instant purchase.

Final Score = 8.5/10

Friday, November 18, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Rayman Origins




Rayman Origins is a comic adventure set in a beautifully rendered 2D world and its the cornerstone of this wonderful universe.  Rayman has always been one of my favorite series ever since I first played it on my favorite console, the N64.  The tough platforming always kept me coming back with eager to finish a level.  Right off the bat, the game is gorgeous, the 2D effect brings back the old school nostalgia of the older games.  Its probably the best Rayman has looked and ever will look.  This platformer is built with the idea of player momentum in mind, just like a LittleBigPlanet.  The levels are intricately designed to fit the players momentum.  I found myself  trying to keep my speed up to finish most of the levels, it works surprisingly well.  There are a magnitude of stages to explore here, great boss fights, unlockable character skins, hidden stages galore and hours upon hours of pure fun.  I have to comment on the boss fights, there isn't many boss fights but when they occur, its awesome.  The bosses themselves look great as well.  Seeing every detail of birdlike creature is always welcoming.  In a blockbuster holiday season of Triple-A games, its great to see a smaller title pack such a huge punch.



Final Score = 9.5/10

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Saints Row The Third



One of my most anticipated game of this year is Saints Row: The Third, and it has finally graced my presence. I'm sure you know what this game is all about, its all about over the top action and and open-world goodness.  Even the first mission resembles the action of a Die Hard movie.   Saints Row the Third takes you out of Stilwater, the setting for the first two games, and drops you into the new city of Steelport(apparently Volition is lazy with names).  Customization plays a big part in the entire game, you can be almost anything you want to be.  I spent around 30 minutes just tinkering around with the vast amount of settings for my player.  The story is ludicrous but in a good way, I'm not gonna spoil anything and I want you guys to experience the insanity for yourself.  Another thing that has made the Saints Row games one of my favorites is the co-op mode.  Online is as awesome as ever with almost no lag what-so-ever.  The graphics aren't a show piece like a Uncharted or Batman but they get the job done.  Explosions are the standout, you''ll notice these during explosive set pieces.  If you haven't figured it out already, the game is awesome and this a definite purchase.


Final Score = 9.25/10

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Short and Sweet Review: Need for Speed The Run






Need for Speed : The Run is an average game but has a few memorable bright sights that true fans of the NFS games will come to appreciate.  I'm not the biggest fan of this franchise but I found myself enjoying this game in a few sessions.  What Need for Speed: The Run has going for it is that it feels more like an old-school NFS game than the previous games.  Its a lot more "arcady" if you will.  Even though I enjoyed the Shift games.  Throughout the campaign, the scenery and gameplay will differ in range as you travel from different coasts.  You'll race in standard eight car races, to a checkpoint time attacks, mountain drifts and cop chases(which are my favorite).  The graphics are the best feat of the game, it has gorgeous set pieces like The Rockies, Yosemite National Park, San Francisco, even the New Jersey Turnpike is cool.  The story of the game is rather weird and all together forgettable.  Thats been a regular with these games.  There isn't much else to the game other than the online.  Its okay I guess if you like that sort of thing.   If you are a NFS fan then this a definite purchase for you, but If you're a casual racing fan like me, give it a try first and see what you think.



Final Score = 7.75/10




Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Assassins Creed Revelations







<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< Read Below>>>>>>>>>>>>>>












Another year, another Assassin's Creed game Ubisoft has pushed out to us right around the same time every year.  Assassin's Creed Revelations marks the end of two eras as it explores the final adventures of Ezio Auditore and Altair Ibn-La'Ahad.  these have always been very ambitious and Revelations is no different than the previous games.  If you've played previous games you'll know exactly what you're getting yourself into.  This entry introduces a couple of new features including a lackluster tower defense gameplay scenes, and portal like gameplay scenarios that you play as Desmond.  These new additions don't detract from the game but they don't necessarily improve on it either.  Once you get back to the original award winning formula, thats when the fun starts.  Gameplay and controls are tighter than ever, you''ll control Ezio with grace and elegance as you traverse the beautifully rendered version of Constantinople.  I've always been a fan of the series and I feel this is a worthy sequel to Brotherhood. This game finally closes the chapter on these characters I think this is definite purchase for a fan of the series.


Final Score = 8/10


Sunday, November 13, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: The Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim




As soon as you turn on skyrim you realize that this game has clearly stepped up the visuals from Bethesda's last realease, Fallout 3, Skyrim is a beautiful game that will completely immerse you in the vibrant world thats riddled with quest and things to do.  With all there is to do, you can easily spend 50 to 100 hours in this game without even scratching the surface of main storyline, that being said is very easy to play this game and completely forget about everything in the real world; the immersion factor is definatly the strongest I've ever experienced in a video game. If you have ever played a Bethesda game, especailly an Elder Scrolls title, to some degree you know what to expect from Skyrim. You will have tons of exploration in your hands, witnessing the best story the studio has ever released, and  the free will in this game is unmatched by any game ever released.  You dont like the way a man talks to you, follow him home, pick the lock on his door, sneak into his room undetected and slash him in his sleep, and before you go why not steal his most prized possesions and sell them for gold. The possibilities are endless and this is easily one of my favorite games of all time and definately my game of the year. The Dark Brotherhood and thieves guild return along with  other guilds making an appearance. Warning: if your social life is at all important to you, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!! 
Im only kidding :)
Final Score = 10/10

Saturday, November 12, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection



Finally another one of my favorite franchises has gotten the HD treatment.  The MGS series has always been one of my personal favorites.  This package includes Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance, Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker.  If you wanna old school metal gear game its also comes with Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2.  The game looks slightly better but its not the greatest leap like the God of War Collections.  If you have never played these games its the perfect chance to experience the pinnacle of stealth games.  The story is the same as Kojima left it, convoluted as always.  I still don't know everything thats going on but its still very enjoyable.  My only problem is going from MGS4 to the older games.  The controls just take a lot longer to get used to since MGS4 controlled so well.  After you get past that only obstacle, this package is very enjoyable and definitely worth the $49.99 price tag


Final Score = 9/10

Friday, November 11, 2011

Impressions Of Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim


I've been playing Skyrim now for about 3 hours now and I wanted to put up some first impressions of this game.  Since this game is so big, the first hour was a long cool opening that I'm not going to spoil for you guys.  Also I'm playing this on the 360, I've been receiving a lot of flak from the 360 fanboys.  Anyways the game so far is pretty good, and its gotten better with every hour.  You can look for the full review later this weekend.


Thursday, November 10, 2011

First Community Review : Super Mario 3D Land



Well its finally time for our first community review and it comes from a fellow reader that goes by MasterChef007(I guess he's a fan of Halo and James bond), and he reviewed the blog's first Nintendo game so check it out,

Hi guys I'm reviewing Super Mario 3D Land and its for the 3DS, and so far I like this game.  Mario is one of my favorite icons in the world.  The game starts out as as most of the other games do Princess Peach gets kidnapped and Mario has to save her.  Basically the same shitty story but I can give a crap about the story.  Its the same pretty awesome platforming formula with good controls that make controlling Mario easy and simple.  You have all your returning power-ups like the invincibility leaf and the p-wing. The 3D in this game is best I have seen, but thats not saying much seeing how most of the games I've played on my 3DS had terrible 3D implementation.  So overall this game is pretty and If you have a 3DS I would suggest picking it up.


Final Score = 8.5/10


Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3



The talented folks at Sledgehammer Games and Infinity Ward have given us another gem of a game.  I was one of the "lucky" few people whose gaming retailer received  copies of the game earlier than the original street date.  MW3 is packed with great content and a variety of fun and awesome modes.  My favorite has always been the great campaign, but the co-op survival mode has taken the reigns.  I've only played it about 3 hours but its completely addicting, I had to drag myself from it to write this review.  Modern Warfare 3 stays the course and expands on its awesome and robust multiplayer.  Kill Confirmed is great but I like to stick with the traditional Team Deathmatch.  Spec Ops is good but you need to play somebody who has a headset and can communicate with a partner.  I've finished the campaign at around 5 hours.  The spectacular voice acting and cool exhilarating set pieces will keep your heart pumping with adrenaline.  I also have to add that the reason I love these games is the solid and tight controls and locked smooth frame rate.  Despite its few flaws, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 takes the fantastic series and builds upon it with another impressive entry.


Final Score = 9.25/10

Saturday, November 5, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: Sonic Generations


After many hit-and misses that SEGA have tried to make with reinventing the iconic Sonic series, the guys at Sonic Team have finally put together a great next-gen Sonic game.  Sonic Generations taps into the nostalgia of two decades of hardcore fans of the franchise into a fun and innovative experience.  The story is simple but interesting,  the twin hedgehogs battle against an unknown force trying to destroy time itself.  You will race your way through nine different Sonic games.  The game is gorgeous to look at, its the best Sonic has looked in a long time.  One of my reasons of loving the game is the 3D stages, and If you've played the demo, you know what I am talking about.  The control on both versions of the blue hedgehog is great but the old sonic feels just as floaty as Sackboy at times.  This doesn't detract from the experience at all.  The sound is all right , with a couple of forgettable tracks from the average soundtrack.  The campaign is relativity short but there are a literal butt-load of items to unlock.  If you've already guessed the game is quite fun and a great package.


Final Score = 8.75/10

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: GoldenEye 007 Reloaded



I love GoldenEye, ever since the first release back in 1997 on my favorite system ever, the N64.  I know what you guys are thinking, the N64 sucked, since I don't wanna have this conversation for the 100th time, lets start with the game.  Reloaded is a reboot of the Wii's reboot, sort of confusing I know, Daniel Craig is the Bond in this game and he's awesome of course.  The game is a good mix of stealth and action, stealth kills are awesome and gunplay is tight.  There are lots of variety, including boss fights and vehicle sections that will get the heart rate up.  The single-players is surprisingly long, which is a good thing, and if you play the game on a harder difficulty the game is even longer.  Multiplayer is fun both online and off, myself being a little old school, love the splitscreen.  Another game mode worth mentioning is the MI6 mode, a series of single-player challenges that are interesting in my opinion.  They mostly involve slaughtering a bunch of enemies which never gets old.  Overall, this reboot is awesome and worth a purchase in my book.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Short And Sweet Review: The Lord of the Rings War in the North


I enjoy the LOTR games, movies and other related items.  Previous games have been ok and I have actually had a lot of fun with the games with a co-op feature.  War in the North is an action-RPG built with a strong focus on co-op game-play.  There are three warriors in the game, you and a buddy or two, will control.  If you can't get friends, the AI will take control and there not the brightest AI, but they get the job done.  Combat is fairly simple, and its not all that difficult.  Its a blend of melee and long-range combat.  The game is quite bloody and has a lot of carnage, which I always welcome with open arms,  make this a little more adult than your average LOTR game.  There are many weapons, armor, and crafting items to be found, as well as items that can be sold for more money.  Overall I am enjoying this solid co-op based action game.